Oh, you… Seattle.

Sometimes I hate Seattle. I hate its depressingly grey, heavy skies. I hate its aggressive homeless problem. I hate its pretentiously boring hipsters. I hate its constant chill in the air. I hate its aloofness. I hate its million-dollar baby strollers. I hate its many fun-filled dog parks with its overpriced apartments’ no-pet policies. I hate its stylishly unattractive matching couples. I hate its cheezy themed parties. I hate its constant bickering over  obvious accessible and eco-friendly public transportation options. I hate its corporate bullshit. And I hate being surrounded by the city’s constant reminders of those I’ve loved and lost.

And then the sun comes out.

And I love the long walks. I love sitting at outdoor cafés sipping on iced soy mochas. I love the scent of patchouli and cloves. I love how the sun glistens off everyone’s mirrored shades. I love its funky, eclectic non-fashion sense. I love its fish tacos by the water. I love its multitude of Happy Hours. I love how joyful the tourists are at Pike Place Market. I love its $5 flower bouquets from the rainbow-wrapped farmers’ markets. I love its allowing me to pull out my sundresses to go with my Chuck Taylors. I love the sound of good music and the scent of Nag Champa wafting from the open windows. I love the waterfront’s “sea” aroma. I love showing my visiting friends the things I love. I love eating Swedish Toast by the Ballard Locks. I love the humidity of the Volunteer Park Conservatory. I love digging my toes in the Golden Gardens’ sand. I love its stoner nachos. I love its folk, metal, and indie music scenes. I love its parks where I can sit and read and people watch. I love its mountains on both sides. I love its convenient location to Vancouver. I love its Light Rail to the airport. And I REALLY love its summers.

Oh, sunshine, why not stick around a while?

“The moment one gives close attention to anything, even a blade of grass, it becomes a mysterious, awesome, indescribably magnificent world in itself.” – Henry Miller

“The roots of all goodness lie in the soil of appreciation for goodness.” – Dalai Lama

 

Leave a Reply

